Helpline: 09 820 5157

Common Sources of Gluten

Gluten is a protein found in the following grains: wheat, barley, rye and oats. In addition many processed foods contain hidden sources of gluten. Gluten is responsible for the cooking and baking properties of these grains. They are described as gluten-containing grains and must be avoided by people with coeliac disease. Other names for these grains or common derivatives are:

Wheat
  • Atta
  • Bourghul/bulgar/bulghur/bulgur
  • Bran
  • Couscous
  • Dinkel
  • Durum
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • German Wheat
  • Graham Flour
  • Kamat
  • Polish Wheat
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale (hybrid of wheat and rye)
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat germ
Barley
  • Malt (barley)
Rye

 

Oats
  • Pilcorn

Gluten containing foods:

Any type of food containing wheat flour, wheat, barley, rye, oats is not suitable for people with coeliac disease.

Unless specified gluten free these types of foods are NOT gluten free: burger buns, bread, cakes, biscuits, pastry, pasta, croutons, stuffing, luncheon meats, sausages, saveloys, cocktail sausages, beer, bagels, cheesecake (the biscuit base), wraps, doughnuts, buns, spaghetti, breakfast cereals, muesli , pizza, pies, crackers, gravy, breadcrumbs, foods cooked in batter.

Examples of foods which MAY contain gluten


The following foods may contain hidden sources of gluten unless specified gluten free: baked beans, corn flakes, rice bubbles, sausages, marinated meat, imitation seafoods, dry roasted nuts, some ice-cream/desserts, hot chips, chips/crisps, pasta sauces, mince sauces, soups, sauces, soya sauce.

For information on foods which are gluten free see the How to Eat Gluten Free page.